Medical Data Integration Center at Hannover Medical School


Medical Data Integration Center at Hannover Medical School

General aim

As part of the ”HiGHmed” funding project (Heidelberg-Göttingen-Hannover Medical Informatics), a medical data integration center (MeDIC) is established at Hannover Medical School (MHH), in cooperation with several other university hospitals, the German Cancer Research Center and other partners in healthcare, science and industry.

Primary goal is the integration of multilocal, heterogeneous data within MHH to improve patient care and research. Various institutes and clinics of the MHH cooperate in the MeDIC, i.e. the Peter L. Reichertz Institute for Medical Informatics, the Center for Information Management (ZIMt), the Department of Cardiology and Angiology, the Department of Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Endocrinology, the Institute for Diagnostic and Diagnostic Interventional Radiology, the Institute of Human Genetics, the Institute of Medical Microbiology and Hospital Hygiene and others.

The strategic goal of the MeDIC is to establish an infrastructure based on internationally accepted, open standards for the cross-institutional exchange of medical data in the coming years to improve patient care and research opportunities in cooperation with the partners in the HiGHmed project. To achieve this goal, data must be interoperable in the participating institutions. The conditions and necessary measures for interoperability and interchangeability of the data are therefore coordinated across the institutions (common information management). Of course, data protection, data security as well as data privacy (informational self-determination) of the patients are of highest importance.

Focus of Research

The cross-institutional exchange of medical data is expected to improve patient care within three exemplary use cases:

To foster patient participation from the beginning, another goal is to establish an innovative patient portal so that patients can access their own data on the course of treatment as well as further information about their disease.

Contact

Additional information

Further information can be found at: www.highmed.org

Datenintegrationszentrum MHH


Datenintegrationszentrum MHH

Forschungsziel

Im Rahmen des „HiGHmed“-Förderprojektes (Heidelberg-Göttingen-Hannover Medizininformatik) entsteht in Kooperation mit mehreren anderen Universitätskliniken, dem Deutschen Krebsforschungszentrum und weiteren Partnern aus Krankenversorgung, Wissenschaft und Industrie an der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover ein medizinisches Datenintegrationszentrum (Medical Data Integration Center, MeDIC).

Primäres Ziel ist die Zusammenführung multilokaler, heterogener Daten innerhalb der MHH zur Verbesserung der Patientenversorgung und der Forschung. Im MeDIC kooperieren verschiedene Institute und Kliniken der MHH, u.a. das Peter L. Reichertz Institut für Medizinische Informatik, das Zentrum für Informationsmanagement (ZIMt), die Klinik für Kardiologie und Angiologie, die Klinik für Gastroenterologie, Hepatologie und Endokrinologie, das Institut für Diagnostische und Interventionelle Radiologie, das Institut für Humangenetik und das Institut für Medizinische Mikrobiologie und Krankenhaushygiene.

Das übergeordnete Ziel des MeDIC ist es, in den kommenden Jahren eine auf internationalen und offenen Standards basierende Infrastruktur für den standortübergreifenden Austausch medizinischer Daten zu schaffen, um gemeinsam mit Partnern des HiGHmed-Projekts eine Verbesserung der Patientenversorgung und sowie den Ausbau der Möglichkeiten zur Forschung zu erreichen. Dabei müssen die Daten über den Krankheitsverlauf in den partizipierenden Kliniken interoperabel sein. Die Voraussetzungen und notwendigen Maßnahmen für die Interoperabilität und Austauschbarkeit der Daten werden standortübergreifend koordiniert und abgestimmt. Dabei sind der Schutz der Daten, die Datensicherheit und die informationelle Selbstbestimmung der Patientinnen und Patienten von zentraler Bedeutung.

Forschungsgegenstand

In verschiedenen Anwendungsszenarien (sogenannten Use Cases) werden durch die Möglichkeit des standortübergreifenden Austauschs von Patientendaten Verbesserungen in der Behandlung erwartet und im Verbund untersucht.

Um Patientinnen und Patienten von Beginn an einzubinden, ist es ein weiteres Ziel, ein innovatives Patientenportal zu etablieren, so dass der Zugriff auf die eigenen Daten über den Behandlungsverlauf und auf weitere Informationen zur eigenen Erkrankung ermöglicht wird.

Ansprechpartner

Zusätzliche Informationen

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter: www.highmed.org