Accident and Emergency Informatics (A&EI)


Accident and Emergency Informatics (A&EI)

General aim

Accident & emergency informatics (A&EI) is a novel and trans-disciplinary science of systematic collecting and managing medical data (e.g., electronic health records) as well as sensor data from the human environment (e.g., acceleration sensors in the vehicle), their syntactic and semantic integration and their analytics, in order to forecast, prevent, or lower the impact of such events on the subject.

Therefore, the core mission of A&EI is saving lives – on the one hand by combining and jointly analyzing medical and non-medical data, and on the other hand by involving decision makers, actors, and stakeholders from politics, infrastructure and health management, and industry.

Focus of Research

A&EI research is focused on the conception (syntactic and semantic interoperability), implementation (at least on the prototype level), and operation (at least as a field experiment) of sensor-enriched medical information systems. Our research is addressing the following tasks:

A&EI-relevant information systems that are focused at PLRI are related to a stack of application areas:

Contact

Unfall- und Notfallinformatik (A&EI)


Unfall- und Notfallinformatik (A&EI)

Forschungsziel

Unfall- und Notfallinformatik (A&EI) ist die Wissenschaft von der systematischen Erfassung und Bereitstellung medizinischer Daten (z.B. elektronische Gesundheitsakte) sowie sensorischer Daten der Umgebung des Menschen (z.B. Beschleunigungs-Sensorik im Fahrzeug), deren syntaktische und semantische Integration und Analyse, um Unfälle oder medizinische Notfälle zu prognostizieren, zu vermeiden oder deren negative Auswirkungen auf das betroffene Individuum zu lindern.

Kernmission der A&EI ist es also, Leben zu retten – einerseits durch das Zusammenführen und Auswerten von medizinischen und nicht-medizinischen Daten und andererseits durch den Einbezug von Entscheidungsträgern, gestaltenden Akteuren und anderen Stakeholdern aus Politik, Infrastrukturplanung, Gesundheitswesen und Industrie in dieses neuartige transdisziplinäre Forschungsfeld.

Forschungsgegenstand

Methodisch steht die Konzeption (syntaktische und semantische Interoperabilität), der Aufbau (zumindest als Prototyp) und der Betrieb (zumindest als Feldversuch) von Sensor-erweiterten medizinischen Informationssystemen im Mittelpunkt der Forschung. Hier sind folgende Fragestellungen weiter zu erforschen:

Die Informationssysteme der Unfall- und Notfallinformatik, die am PLRI erforscht werden, gehören dabei zu verschiedenen Anwendungskontexten:

Ansprechpartner