Medical Learning Lab


General aim

At the Hanover Medical School (MHH) the Peter L. Reichertz Institute has established a stable infrastructure for using of digital learning resources The technical basis for this service are the learning management system ILIAS and the content management system Medical Schoolbook. In addition to didactic consultancy and training courses on ILIAS, the service offering for MHH teachers also includes the realization of educational films.

Focus of Research

ILIAS in Student Teaching

The model study program HannibaL was introduced at the MHH in the academic year 2005/06. At the same time the learning platform (ILIAS) was established for the medical degree program. By now, all degree courses at the MHH use this learning platform, as well as the library, the Skills Lab, the MHH Alumni e.V. and the AStA of the MHH.

ILIAS is an acronym for Integrated Learning, Information and Collaboration System and allows users to access a variety of multimedia learning resources and materials and a variety of web-based communication channels in one centralized system.
Contact: elearning@mh-hannover.de

ILIAS in Continuing Education

As part of the project eLearning in Continuing Education, the learning management system ILIAS was established for all MHH employees to access digital learning opportunities. By providing web-based learning materials and resources, employees are able to better align their learning plans with their individual interests, skills, and available time. In addition, eLearning provides hospital management with the opportunity to conduct customized education and training.
Contact: weiterbilden-online@mh-hannover.de

Medical Schoolbook

With the Medical Schoolbook eLearning opportunities can be design that take into account the special features and requirements of medical education. For example, case collection for for case based learning can be create or learning resources can be linked semantically. Furthermore, a unique feature allows the use of gigapixel images for medical teaching purposes.
The Medical Schoolbook was first designed in the eLearning projects TT-Net and ELAN. It is published under the open source license GPL.
Contact: Dr. Thomas Kupka

Educational Film Production

Educational films are playing an increasingly important role in medical education and training, and are used in a wide variety of fields and specialities of health care. Through videos, medical procedures, examination methods or medical symptoms can presented in a way that is easier to understand than through individual images or textual descriptions. The educational film production of the PLRI produces professional learning material in cooperation with the teachers of the MHH. In addition to lecture recordings and e-lectures, educational films of varying complexity and in variety of formats are realized.
Contact: Gerald Stiller

Contact

Additional information

Dr. Jörn Krückeberg
Dr. Thomas Kupka
Dipl.-Kult.Päd. Gerald Stiller
Julian Fisher
Dr. Nicole Hechtel
Kevin Meyer

Medical Learning Lab

Forschungsziel

Im Rahmen verschiedener Forschungsprojekte wurde vom Peter L. Reichertz Institut an der Medizinischen Hochschule Hannover (MHH) eine stabile Infrastruktur zur Nutzung digitaler Lernangebote aufgebaut. Die technische Basis bilden das Lernmanagementsystem ILIAS und das Contentmanagementsystem Medical Schoolbook. Zum Serviceangebot für Lehrende der MHH gehört neben mediendidaktischen Beratungen und Schulungsangeboten zu ILIAS auch die Realisierung von Lehrfilmen.

Forschungsgegenstand

ILIAS in der studentischen Lehre

Mit der Einführung des Modellstudiengangs HannibaL (Hannoveraner integrierter berufsorientierter adaptiver Lehrplan) im Studienjahr 2005/06 wurde an der MHH auch eine zentrale Lernplattform auf Basis des Lernmanagementsystems ILIAS etabliert. Mittlerweile nutzen alle Studiengänge der MHH diese Lernplattform, ebenso wie die Bibliothek, das Skills Lab, der MHH Alumni e.V. und der AStA der MHH.
ILIAS ist ein Akronym für Integriertes Lern-, Informations- und Arbeitskooperations-System und steht für die Möglichkeit, verschiedene multimediale Lernmaterialien und webbasierte Kommunikationsformen in einem zentralen System zu nutzen.
Die eLearning-Plattform ILIAS der MHH erreichen Sie über: elearning.mh-hannover.de
Kontakt: elearning@mh-hannover.de

ILIAS in beruflichen Weiterbildung

Im Rahmen des Projektes eLearning in der Weiterbildung wurde ebenfalls auf Basis des Lernmanagementsystems ILIAS eine webbasierte Lernplattform eingeführt, mit der digitale Lernangebote für Beschäftigte der MHH realisiert werden. Die Beschäftigten können ihre Lernphasen so nach individuellen Interessen, Fähigkeiten und Zeitressourcen planen. Darüber hinaus eröffnet eLearning für das Krankenhausmanagement die Chance, gesetzlich vorgeschriebene Unterweisungen personalisiert durchzuführen.
Kontakt: weiterbilden-online@mh-hannover.de

Medical Schoolbook

Mit dem Medical Schoolbook können multimediale eLearning-Angebote unter Berücksichtigung der Besonderheiten der medizinischen Aus-, Weiter- und Fortbildung realisiert werden. Neben der Erstellung von Fallsammlungen und der semantischen Verknüpfung von Inhalten, ermöglicht das Medical Schoolbook auch die Verwendung von Gigapixeln-Bildern für medizinische Lehrzwecke.
Die Anfänge des Medical Schoolbook liegen in den eLearning-Projekten TT-Net und ELAN. Das Medical Schoolbook ist unter der Open Source Lizenz GPL veröffentlicht.
Ansprechpartner: Dr. Thomas Kupka

Lehrfilmproduktion

Lehrvideos können in der medizinischen Ausbildung in unterschiedlichen Bereichen sinnvoll eingesetzt werden. Durch bewegte Bilder werden Handlungsabläufe, Untersuchungsmethoden oder die medizinische Symptomatik oftmals verständlicher dargestellt als durch Einzelbilder oder textliche Beschreibungen. Die Lehrfilmproduktion des PLRIs erstellt in Zusammenarbeit mit den Lehrenden der MHH professionelles Lernmaterial. Neben Vortragsaufzeichnungen und E-Lectures werden Lehrfilme in unterschiedlicher Komplexität und Ausprägung realisiert.
Ansprechpartner: Dipl.-Kult.Päd. Gerald Stiller

Ansprechpartner

Zusätzliche Informationen

Dr. Jörn Krückeberg
Dr. Thomas Kupka
Dipl.-Kult.Päd. Gerald Stiller
Julian Fisher
Dr. Nicole Hechtel
Kevin Meyer