Trans-O-MIM (TOM)

Trans-O-MIM (TOM)

Strategies, models and evaluation metrics for the goal-oriented, stepwise, sustainable and fair transformation of established subscription-based scientific journals into open-access-based journals with Methods of Information in Medicine as example

Contact

Reinhold Haux

Project partners

Funding

Scientific Library Services and Information Systems (LIS) - funding programme: Open-Access Publishing (DFG HA 1438/17-1)

Summary

information from database GEPRIS (German Project Information System) of The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinchaft (DFG)

Duration

2015-2018

Staff


Based on today‘s information and communication technologies the open access paradigm has become an important approach for adequately communicating new scientific knowledge. Successfully transforming well-established publication organs - such as subscription-based scientific journals - turned out to be more difficult as expected. Elaborating appropriate strategies as well as models with associated evaluation metrics to assess transformation success could play an important role for the adequate communication of new scientific knowledge, in particular in the context of exemplary transforming journals by using these evaluation metrics, and when scientifically supervised and presented. Requirements such as goal-oriented, stepwise, sustainable and fair seem to be of specific importance for such a transformation.

This project aims at developing and exploring strategies, models and evaluation metrics (as ‘controlling tools‘) for the goal-oriented, stepwise, sustainable and fair transformation of established subscription-based scientific journals into open-access-based journals. As example for such a transformation the journal Methods of Information in Medicine will be used. In being nationally and internationally visible, this project may help to elaborate new and important fundamentals, being used for other publication organs by publishers and by scientific organizations in making appropriate decisions for successfully transforming subscription-based scientific journals (or other publication organs) into open access. It also aims to point out, how small and mediate publishers (independent of their organization as company, self-publishing entity or scientific society) can better compete with, in particular, large international publishers in using today‘s information and communication technologies for innovative, flexible publication services, oriented at the needs of authors and readers.


Download project software (manual included) here: tom_software
Read software manual here: manual

Trans-O-MIM (TOM)

Trans-O-MIM (TOM)

Strategien, Modelle und Evaluationsmetriken zur zielgerichteten, schrittweisen, nachhaltigen und fairen Transformation etablierter, subskriptionsbasierter wissenschaftlicher Zeitschriften in Open-Access-basierte Zeitschriften am Beispiel der Zeitschrift Methods of Information in Medicine

Ansprechpartner

Mareike Schulze

Kooperationspartner

Förderung

Wissenschaftliche Literaturversorgungs- und Informationssysteme (LIS) - Förderprogramm: Open Access Publizieren (DFG HA 1438/17-1)

Kurzbeschreibung

Das Projekt in der Datenbank GEPRIS (Geförderte Projekte Informationssystem) der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinchaft (DFG)

Laufzeit

2015-2018

Mitarbeiter


Das Open Access Paradigma scheint bei der heutigen Informations- und Kommunikationsinfrastruktur ein wichtiger Ansatz zur adäquaten und zeitgemäßen Kommunikation neuer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse zu sein. Die erfolgreiche Transformation von etablierten Publikationsorganen - hier insbesondere von bisher subskriptionsbasierten wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften - hat sich jedoch als schwieriger als zunächst erwartet herausgestellt. Die Ausarbeitung von geeigneten Strategien einerseits und von Modellen für die Beurteilung des Erfolgs von Transformationen mit dazugehörigen Evaluationsmetriken andererseits sowie eine beispielhafte Transformationen von Zeitschriften auf Grundlage solcher Strategien, Modelle und Evaluationsmetriken zur adäquaten und zeitgemäßen Kommunikation neuer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse, die wissenschaftlich begleitet und über die kritisch berichtet wird, könnte einen weiteren wichtigen Beitrag für diese Transformation leisten. Anforderungen wie Zielgerichtetheit, schrittweise Transformation, Nachhaltigkeit und Fairness erscheinen für eine erfolgreiche Transformation besonders wichtig zu sein.

Ziele dieses Vorhabens sind, Strategien, Modelle und Evaluationsmetriken (als 'Controlling-Werkzeuge') zur zielgerichteten, schrittweisen, nachhaltigen und fairen Transformation etablierter, subskriptionsbasierter wissenschaftlicher Zeitschriften in Open-Access-basierte Zeitschriften zu erarbeiten und zu untersuchen. Dabei soll diese Transformation an einem konkreten Beispiel - der Transformation der Zeitschrift Methods of Information in Medicine - erprobt werden. Als national und international sichtbares Modellprojekt soll es für andere Publikationsorgane, Verlage und Wissenschaftsorganisationen wichtige und bisher fehlende zusätzliche Entscheidungsgrundlagen für Transformationen subskriptionsbasierter wissenschaftlicher Zeitschriften (ggf. auch anderer Publikationsorgane) liefern. Und es soll beispielhaft aufzeigen, wie kleine und mittelständische Verlage (wie auch immer diese sich organisatorisch ausprägen: z.B. als Untenehmen, als Selbstverlag oder Teil wissenschaftlicher Fachgesellschaften) insbesondere in der Konkurrenz zu großen internationalen Verlagen, durch neue, flexible, an den aktuellen Bedürfnissen von Autoren und Lesern orientierten, jetzt verfügbare neue Informations- und Kommunikations-Möglichkeiten nutzende Publikationsangebote zur adäquaten und zeitgemäßen Kommunikation neuer wissenschaftlicher Erkenntnisse geschaffen werden können.